Universidad de La Frontera

Universidad de La Frontera (UFRO) was born as an autonomous institution on March 10th 1981, as a result of the merger of the Temuco branches of Universidad de Chile and Universidad Técnica del Estado. It is a socially responsible, autonomous State Higher Education institution in the Araucanía Region.

Its mission is to contribute to the development of the Region and of the whole country, through the creation and dissemination of knowledge, the education and training of professionals and postgraduates, and fostering of the arts and culture. It is committed to quality and innovation, respect for human dignity, caring for the environment, cultural diversity, and creating a more democratic and fair society.

UFRO is considered one of Chile’s 10 best Universities from Chilean Council of Rectors, an institution which ensures quality and excellence in higher education. Also, it has had an outstanding evolution relation to its selectivity standards during the latest years, placing itself as the best ranked educational institution in the South of Chile. The University leads the offer of undergraduate and graduate programs in the region, educating approximately 8.000 students. It is an institution where knowledge, leadership, entrepreneurship and future view are cultivated.